Spirals

bracciale a spirale7

Spirals are very ancient mystic symbols. Some scholars even believe spirals were the very first symbol mankind used to represent spirituality.  They are considered powerful symbols in many cultures. Most of the time, spirals represent the connection, the mingling of what is outside us with what is inside us. The outer world with the inner soul.

For ancient Mycenean people, the spiral represented growth, knowledge and awareness. It represented growth in the body and the mind. Movement through space, but also a journey toward the discovery of one’s true self.

For Celts, spirals symbolized growth, but  also enlargement of self awareness as well as the knowledge and awareness of the powers hidden in the world we dwell.

The spiral is a very powerful symbol of connection between the very small and the very large, between what outside with what’s is inside. It symbolizes movement towards infinity and the unknown.

I didn’t knew all these thing, I discovered it only recently, still I’ve always liked spirals. I like them aesthetically, their elegant movement gives me a sensation of fulfillment, balance and completeness. Maybe that’s because of the shape of the spiral, so similar to the circle. I can’t really say. But the spiral appears very often in my jewellery. I love to use metal wires to make it. It almost feels as if the wire – which is a solid material but let itself be shaped so easily – let itself be turned in spirals in a very easy, I’d even say ‘natural’ way. It’s like a call.

If you like my jewelly, you may want to drop by my Etsy shop

4 thoughts on “Spirals

  1. Pingback: Is the Challenge over? | Writing Wings

  2. The jewellery is gorgeous – right up m alley! I love your use of spirals, both for their visual aesthetic and symbolic appeal. Spirals have been part of human expression possibly almost since humans began – some of the oldest petroglyphs are spirals. On a side note, I found some wonderful material on the potential mathematical information contained in the spiral petroglyphs at Newgrange – if I can find it buried in my research files, I’ll pass on a link 🙂 Lovely site you have going here!

Leave a Reply

