Steampunk Jewellery

Steampunk eye 3

I’m a reader as well as a maker and I love any form of speculative fiction. Imagine my delight when I discovered that steampunk not only produces some fantastic stories, but also an entire world of gadgets and items. When I saw steampunk jewellery the first time, I thought, Oh my goodness, this is what I want to do!

“Sometimes glass glitters more than diamonds, because it has more to prove.” – Terry Pratchett

This pendant is made primarily with copper and artistic wire. I love the colour of the glass bead. I think its blue complement the natural colour of copper in a way that make both of them shine. The gears I use all come from real vintage clocks and believe me, working them into the jevellery is a hell of a job. I don’t use glue, I only wire wrap. It is a time consuming job, but very rewarding. I really like how this pendant turned out.

4 thoughts on “Steampunk Jewellery

  1. Great designs you have here Sarah. I really like the pendant displayed here and how you brought the gears from clocks into it.

    Now, I have a box load of ideas for stories struggling to tip over and spill across my mind forcing me to spend the afternoon jotting them all down into notebooks. Thanks! 😉

    Actually though, the design above interests me very much. In the story I’m currently writing this would be an interesting piece of jewellery for one of my characters. I can’t say what it is just now, but thanks for the inspiration 🙂

Leave a Reply

